Competition news


04 Aug 2011
Deportivo will face Girona FC in the second round of Copa Del Rey; the Galicians enter in this stage of the competition after the relegation to Segunda. The confrontation against Girona is a one-leg series that will be played at the Riazor.

Depor will face Segunda club Girona FC in the second round of Copa Del Rey 2011/2012; this stage is a one-leg series that will be disputed on September 7. The match will be played at the Riazor as the name of Deportivo was the first one that came out from the pot during the draw. It is the first time in which Depor will face Catalan club Girona in an official match.

Coach Oltra talked with after knowing the result of the draw and he said that, “The best thing is that we play at home in front of our fans and you have the advantage of the field, but it is a complicate rival as we are facing a team from our league. It’s a tough team that’s pretty difficult in set-pieces and that’s coming after making a good year. It’s going to be a complicate round.”

The first two rounds in Copa Del Rey 2011/12 were drawn on Wednesday in Madrid; the first round is only disputed by the best teams at Segunda División B and Tercera. As part of the procedure eight clubs from these leagues pass directly to the second round: Alcalá, Cádiz, Sant Andreu, San Roque, Albacete, Roquetas, Orihuela and Alavés.

Then, there are eighteen one-leg series in the first round: Marino-Toledo; Lugo-Real Oviedo; Real Jaén-Ceuta; Melilla-Villanovense; Balompédica Linense-Badalona UCAM; Murcia-Comarca de Níjar; Balompédica Linense-Badalona; Llagostera-Olímpic; Andorra-Lleida; Hospitalet-Manacor; Alcobendas-Lanzarote; Leganés-Vecindario; Cerceda-Tenerife; Náxara-Salamanca; Tudelano-Ponferradina; Burgos-Eibar
Amorebieta-Mirandés; Palencia-Logroñés.

For the second round, the eighteen winners of the previous stage, plus the eight clubs directly qualified, will play against clubs of the same leagues in thirteen one-leg series. The twenty Segunda clubs in the competition –Villarreal B and Barcelona B can’t take part of the tournament- enter into the competition during this stage.

The Segunda clubs play between them in ten one-leg series to end obtaining ten clubs that will pass to the third round. The ten series between the Segunda clubs are:

Valladolid - Gimnàstic
Murcia - Córdoba
Huesca - Xérez
Celta - Las Palmas
Almería - Guadalajara
Alcorcón - Sabadell
Deportivo - Girona
Cartagena - Numancia
Hércules - Alcoyano
Recreativo – Elche

Then, the ten Segunda winners, plus the thirteen survivors from Segunda B and Tercera, will pass to the third round; this stage is once again composed by one-leg series, but it’s the first round in which clubs from different leagues can face each other. In the end only twelve clubs from Segunda, Segunda B and Tercera will reach the last-32 round, which is the first stage in which the Primera clubs enters into the competition.

In resume, Depor has to pass two rounds before reaching the first stage where the Primera clubs dispute the competition. If Depor eliminates Girona, then it will enter in the draw for the third round, which will take place on September 9.



Back to Competition news