Transfer news


01 Feb 2012
Deportivo didn’t complete any transfer during the winter window, the only team that made moves was Fabril; Deportivo B releasing winger Julien and signed two defenders: Arroyo and Ricarte. Both sides targets the promotion.

There were no movements at Deportivo La Coruña firs team during the winter transfer window; it was reported that the club was searching for a striker and a left-back defender, but president Augusto César Lendoiro never found any reinforcement that was suiting the financial situation of Deportivo.

Perhaps the most expected signing was the possible arrival of a striker; several names were linked with Deportivo, from Álex Geijo to Rodrigo Mora, the last attackers linked with the Galician club were Croatian Goran Ljubojević and Portuguese Nelson Oliveira, but in the end nothing happened.

About the left-back, since some weeks ago it was commented that Deportivo was attempting to complete the return of Joan Capdevila, who was searching for the door out at Benfica SL. During the past Sunday the Riazor Blues showed a banner with the image of the Catalan defender and the fans chanted his name, especially after Ayoze was sent off.

As a response, the club informed on Monday through a message at canaldeportivo .com that Deportivo attempted the signing of Capdevila, but that Benfica responded that it won’t allow the exit of the defender, at least during the winter window.

The banner on Sunday asking for Capdevila’s signing.

One hour before the closure of the market, Lendoiro explained the situation at the Plaza de Pontevedra, "We were focusing our efforts to Benfica [Capdevila and Nelson Oliveira], but they refused to allow the operations. We also attempted the arrival of Rodrigo Mora, but that was a while ago.  Benfica never wanted to talk of the subject; they are living a tough moment and I imagine they didn’t want to take any risk. Anyhow, the squad is the first of Segunda. Our fear was caused by the continuous injuries of the strikers.”

In the end the first team of Deportivo is still composed by these 25 players:
Goalkeepers: Aranzubia and Lux
Defenders: Manuel Pablo, Laure, Colotto, Aythami, Rochela, Ze Castro, Morel, Seoane and Ayoze Diaz
Midfielders: Juan Domínguez, Álex Bergantiños, Borja Fernández,  Jesús Vázquez, Valerón, Saúl, Bruno Gama, Pablo Álvarez, Salomão and Guardado
Strikers: Riki, Xisco, Bodipo and Lassad

Seoane, Juan Dominguez and Rochela are inscribed as B team members, this means that Depor has three empty slots at the first team. To explain that the trio won’t play with Fabril as their contracts don’t allow this option, different is the case with Marc and Juan Carlos, duo that trains with the first team and plays with Deportivo B at Tercera División.

The team that was pretty active during the closure of the winter window was Fabril; on Monday the club announced the exit of a player, while one day later it was announcing the arrival of two youngsters that will reinforce the team for the last part of the season.

The player leaving is left winger Julien Dilal Nddombo, the Cameroonian youngster never adapted to Span and faced a lot of injury problems, including a groin injury that sidelined him almost for a year. He was promoted this season to Depor B, but only completed five appearances with the team. On Monday the club announced that it was cancelling the contract with the African youngster.

Meanwhile, the big problems at defense caused by the injuries will be covered with the arrival of José Luis Arroyo Sanz (21, AD Colmenar Viejo) and Oriol Ricarte Iniesta (22, Real Zaragoza B). Both are central defenders with experience at Tercera División. Arroyo can also perform as a centre midfielder, while Ricarte is a pure central defender.

Depor B is now composed by 24 players:
Goalkeepers: Marc Martinez and Edu
Defenders: Adriá Gallego, Jose Manuel, Diego Vieytes, Uxío, Pablo Ínsua, Stefan Deak, Oriol Ricarte, Luis Arroyo, and Ángel Martinez
Midfielders: Richi, David Garcia, Pedro Crespo, Adrián Martinez, Álvaro Queijeiro, Juan Carlos, Diego Vela and Víctor Diaz.
Strikers: Álex Pérez, Iago Beceiro, Álvaro Lemos, Luis Fernández and David Cubillas.



Back to Transfer news