Squad news


05 Jul 2017
Pepe Mel launches the pre-season 2017/18 with 26 players working at Abegondo, including seven lads from the academy. Other four men will join the work on next week.

The pre-season starts today for Deportivo. Coach Pepe Mel will direct the first training session in the afternoon, in the morning the men will undergo the first medical tests. The pre-season could be divided in three stages.

The first corresponds to the first ten days, frame in which the team will be working at Abegondo (July 3-13). Then the team   will begin to play friendly games for the second stage, eight of them in Galicia against Segunda B and Tercera clubs (July 3-27), which will be followed by more demanding games including the Teresa Herrera (July 30-August 12)

The third stage will be a novelty, because Deportivo will be concentrated in Vilalba only days before the kick-off in liga. Vilalba, a city in Lugo’s province, is a common place where Depor are used to train during the pre-season stages. But in this opportunity the novelty is that it’s taking place at the end of the pre-season and not at the beginning. The team will be training at Hotel Attica 21 between August 7 & 11. One day later the pre-season is closed with a friendly against CD Tenerife.

Mel will have 26 players in the first training session (19h00 CET), this includes 19 men from the first team plus seven academy players: Francis Uzoho, José Manuel Leobalde 'Chema', Aarón Sánchez, Óscar García, Pedro Alves, Edu Expósito and Borja Galán. Other four men will join the work until July 12 as they had more vacation time after been playing with their national teams: Celso Borges, Fayçal Fajr, Florin Andone & Emre Çolak

Picked players for the pre-season:
Goalkeepers: Tytoń, Rubén Martínez, Francis & Chema
Defenders: Juanfran, Albentosa, Sidnei, Arribas, Róber, Navarro, Saúl García & Luisinho.
Midfielders: Álex Bergantiños, Mosquera, Guilherme, Borges, Juan Dominguez, Edu Expósito, Çolak, Cartabia, Fajr, Bicho, Aarón Sánchez, Fede Valverde & Bruno Gama
Attackers: Andone, Borja Valle, Óscar, Pedro Alves & Borja Galán.

The calendar for the pre-season:
July 13: Racing Villalbés - Deportivo (A Magdalena, Vilalba)
July 14: SD Arosa - Deportivo (A Lomba, Vilagarcía de Arousa)
July 15: SD Silva - Deportivo (Campus Universitario de Elviña, A Coruña)
July 18: CCD Cerceda - Deportivo (O Roxo, Cerceda)
July 20: UD Somozas - Deportivo (Manuel Candocia, Somozas)
July 22: Bergantiños CF - Deportivo (As Eiroas, Carballo)
July 25: Pontevedra CF - Deportivo (Pasarón, Pontevedra)
July 27: Racing de Ferrol - Deportivo (A Malata, Ferrol)
July 30: FC Porto - Deportivo (O Dragão, Porto)
Aug 03: Real Oviedo - Deportivo (Carlos Tartiere, Oviedo)
Aug 05: Deportivo – West Bromwich Albion (Riazor, Teresa Herrera)
Aug 12: CD Tenerife – Deportivo (Teide trophy, Los Cuartos stadium, Tenerife)



Related news


Back to Squad news