Competition news


23 Jun 2014
Deportivo return to Primera División and find a little different picture to what it left two years ago. Now the liga title seems to be a race of three clubs, while the short trips for the Galician clubs are gone.

Dramatic end at Segunda División; Córdoba CF clinched the last ticket to Primera División with a goal scored in added time and after the fans of UD Las Palmas invaded the pitch to celebrate their promotion (1-1). The Andalusians return to the elite after 42 years.

The Primera season 2014/15 will be different to the tournament 2012/13, the previous participation of Deportivo in the league. Firstly for the names of the teams that will compete. The three clubs promoted on last year survived: Villarreal CF, Elche CF and UD Almeria. So, 5 of the 19 rivals weren’t there two years ago.

It means that Depor will find new actors in the race for the permanence, teams struggling for a long time like CA Osasuna, Real Zaragoza, Racing Santander and RCD Mallorca are gone. Another thing to notice is that the race for the title, previously reserved to FC Barcelona and Real Madrid, could now be extended to three and even four teams.

Atlético Madrid made a wonderful season on last year and it’s expected they could extend their performance to the new season. Also to remember that Valencia CF have a new owner (Peter Lim) and his big investment can lead to see a fourth participant for the title. This only mean that the big clubs will have more pressure and could be more predetermined to drop points.

An important thing to notice is that RC Celta and Deportivo are the only representatives in the league from the northern side of Spain. Castile & Leon lost the presence of Real Valladolid, while Asturias witnessed how Sporting Gijón failed to clinch the promotion during the playoffs at Segunda. Then to remember that Racing Santander (Cantabria) will be competing at Liga Adelante.

In this way Depor and Celta, apart from the derby, won’t have short trips in the league, which will reduce the possibility of a massive support during the away games. And it’s that the shortest trip for Deportivo will be the visit to Athletic Bilbao (551.14 Km.)

In recent years Andalusia dominated Primera with up to six teams from this region competing in the league, now there’s a more balanced situation though they continue to be the community with more clubs despite the relegation of Real Betis. The Andalusians will have five teams in the league (Sevilla CF, Malaga CF, Granada CF, UD Almeria & Córdoba CF)

It’s only one more team compared to Madrid (Atlético Madrid, Real Madrid, Getafe CF & Rayo Vallecano) and Valencia (Villarreal CF, Valencia CF, Levante UD & Elche CF). So, these three communities are gathering 13 of the 20 spots at Primera.

The other seven spots are distributed in three communities, which also means that eleven of the seventeen communities in Spain won’t have a team at Primera. The Basque Country is having three (Athletic Bilbao, Real Sociedad & SD Eibar). Catalonia (FC Barcelona & RCD Espanyol) and Galicia (RC Celta & Deportivo) have two.

Among the curiosities for the new league; SD Eibar are making their first appearance in the league, while Córdoba CF is returning after 42 years. Only one club lasted more time in returning to Primera: Gimnástic Tarragona (56 years). Also to point out that, with the return of Deportivo, 8 of the 9 historic champions will compete in the league. Real Betis is the only previous champion out of the competition.

About Deportivo, this will be the campaign number 43 at the elite. Only twelve clubs have spent more years at Primera: Real Madrid (83), Barcelona FC (83), Athletic Bilbao (83), Valencia CF (79), RCD Espanyol (79), Atlético Madrid (77), Sevilla CF (70), Real Sociedad (67), Real Zaragoza (58), Real Betis (49), RC Celta (48) and Racing Santander (44).

A final stat: Deportivo have faced 18 of the 19 rivals at least twice within the last two years. The exception is Villarreal CF. Both teams have been competing in a different league within the last three seasons. The last meeting against the yellow submarine took place on February 13, 2011(1-0 win at the Riazor).



Related news


Back to Competition news