Squad news


20 Aug 2018
Tito Ramallo returns in order to direct a Fabril with a humbler goal, which is the permanence at Segunda B. The team has now 23 players, five of them are new signings.

Fabril starts to compete on next weekend at Segunda B. The situation of the club, with the first team at Segunda, has provoked to see a different approach for this season. After a year in which the B squad conquered its best position ever caressing the promotion to Sgunda A, now things are different and the only goal is the permanence.

Gustavo Munúa left and the new coach is Tito Ramallo, a familiar face that coached the team for a decade and that knows pretty well the division and the Galician football as a whole. The club made this decision after the criticism for hiring a coach under investigation in a scandal that affected Depor in the past, and chose a save bet in order to avoid changes at the middle of the campaign.

The team is now composed by 23 players, 12 of them were already at the team on last season, there are 5 signings and the remaining 6 lads have been promoted from Juvenil A. Francis, Álex Cobo, Bicho and Carlos López tried to gain a spot at the first team during the summer, but they struggled due to the injuries and are now back at the B squad.

About the signings, four of them are expected to mark the difference. French midfielder Sèbastien Salles-Lamonge was announced on Saturday, while Uruguayan Guillermo May plus Javi Cobo and Diego Villarres left a positive impression in the pre-season and scored goals. There were some players on trial during the summer, the only one that convinced the coach was right winger Víctor García Raja.

Among the promoted players from Juvenil A is striker Pedro Correia, who won the UEFA U-19 tournament with Portugal during the summer, and also centre-back Mujaid Sadick, who debuted last season with the first team.

The team played 7 friendly games during the pre-season, it won 3 meetings, drew once and lost the other 3 games, including the one against the first team. The last game was a 3-2 win over Tercera club Arosa SC (3-2) with the goals scored by Uxío, Villarres and Javi Cobo.

Fabril’s team for the season 2018/19:
Goalkeepérs: Álex Cobo & Francis Uzoho
Defenders: Blas Alonso, Lucas Viña, Mujaid Sadick, Steve One, Quique Fornos & Raúl González
Midfielders: Bicho, Carlos López, Diego Villarres, Gaizka Martínez, Javi Cobo, Sergio Ortuño, Jorge Valín, Sèbastien Salles-Lamonge & Yago Gandoy.
Attackers: Luismi, Adrián Castro, Guillermo May, Pedro Correia, Uxío Dapena & Víctor García.



Back to Squad news